cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Share your quitting journey

Really struggling....

kristen-9-7-15
0 15 50

I think what helps me the most and keeps me away from smoking is reading about everyone's disgusting effects the body has as a result of smoking. I am young(well, not that young, hehe) and don't have any of the coughing up phlegm, wheezing, wrinkles, illness, shortness of breath, nasty teeth, ect. I don't mean to be rude or offend anyone in any way or to benefit from others misery and misfortune. I am not very good at wording things through writing but I want to hear disgusting stories from real life people. What is your day to day life like? I think it really opens the eyes of us young quitters.

For example, my coworker has the most disgusting, wet, nasty, phlegmy cough. I am afraid nasty crap is going to fly out of her mouth onto my forehead when I'm talking to her and she starts to cough, which is every 5 seconds! But, hearing that really reinforces my quit! I DO NOT want to be like that.

Let us youngens hear your stories! Or just me; PM if you prefer.

Thanks!!

15 Comments
Eric_L.

Thanks for sharing.  Fear doesnt keep me from smoking.  I feel what keeps me from smoking is connecting the dots between my perception of life being crappy and smoking.  THEN being willing to do things differently.  Willingness not willpower.

Giulia