cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Share your quitting journey

30 Days Quit

KelliHat13
3 11 227

Hello! My name is Kelli! I have been smoking for the past 5 years and smoked a pack a day for the past 2-3 years. When I decided to quit I went cold turkey and I also quit drinking caffeine. I would drink 3-4 cups of coffee a day and 4-5 cokes a day and rarely would I drink water. Ever. I am now 30 days nicotine free. The first week was miserable. I think my body is still in shock from how bad nicotine withdrawals actually are. I never dreamed it was like this and I don’t see how nicotine isn’t illegal. It definitely should be. Right now I still have issues using the bathroom, I get hot and very cold randomly, and my main withdrawal symptom is my anxiety. I have been taking magnesium and fish oil to help the dopamine levels in my brain etc. been drinking ALOT of water everyday. It’s the anxiety part that still gets me. Some days I feel fine and can keep it at bay then the next day it’s very hard. Like today my anxiety has been a little difficult, headache, and body chills. And then this evening body chills went away and I got hot. Is this my body temp trying to regulate? Any advice? Is this normal? I feel like my body is in complete shock from everything that I have quit at once. But I am so thankful for God and his mercy! I wouldn’t have made it this far without him carrying me through. But God! 

11 Comments
Snowdoggie

@KelliHat13 Hi Kelli, great job on your 30 days. It can take quite a while for your body to adjust to not having nicotine. For your bathroom issues you might try eating prunes. They are sold in a resealable bag. About six of them 2x a day should help. Raisins can also help. Look up "colonic massage" on the net which may also help. Don't be miserable.

Caffeine and sugar withdrawal can mess with your temperature. I hope you will feel better soon.