cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

margaret-hall

Hello All...

I'm a wife and mom of two beautiful girls, ages 7 and 12. I've smoked most of my 43 years. I started smoking right out of high school... because my parents and my best friend smoked. I tried to quit for my boyfriend, for my first husband... and when I got pregnant with my first daughter... but I didn't. I still feel guilty when I think that I drank and smoked all through my first pregnancy.
Then one day, I just quit. I didn't want them anymore. I had no cravings, no desire, no nothing. It was so darned easy. After my second daughter was born, we got stationed in the Middle East at an American Embassy.... Everybody drank and smoked. So, I did, too. My husband and my daughters constantly asked me to quit and I would get so aggravated at them.
So, I've added it all up and I've been smoking for a total of 26 years. I really want to quit again (for good) and I've tried several times... it's just not easy this time. I won't go eat at a restaurant that has no smoking. I don't like to go to friends houses that don't smoke. I've noticed myself not taking a puff when I'm in my car and I'm stopped next to someone. I know how it looks. I know how bad my house, my clothes, my car and everything else smells from all the smoke. I'm tired of taking a shower and smelling the smoke on my body as soon the water hits me. My health is suffering from it. I'm short of breath and I cough a lot.
I have 11 packs of cigarettes left and I want that to be it. I don't want to look to my husband or kids for support because for some reason I feel like they are just patronizing me.
I just saw a commercial on The Weather Channel for becomeanex.org.... so here I am. I believe people, places and things occur and come into our lives for a reason. I want to believe this is why I saw that commercial. I want to quit.... (she says as she takes another draw) ....