cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

johnmo

TOMORROW IS THE FIRST DAY OF THE REST OF MY LIFE

I have been smoking for 10 years, since I was 17, and it's time to quit. So I've set tomorrow as my quit day. My first day as a non-smoker and the first day of the biggest turning point in my life.

I recently tried a couple times and I've learned a couple things about myself that are going to make this quit successful. The first is that I have to keep reminding myself that I am a drug addict and the only way to not be one is to stop using the drug completely and forever. There is no going back. I can't smoke just a little bit. I can't smoke just when I'm drinking. I can't have one a day. I AM AN ADDICT. One is too many and a thousand are not enough.

The second is that the withdrawal is nothing. There is nothing to it. It's easy to say no to it. There is no pain and no problems, it's just a fleeting moment.

The third is that deep in my conscious mind I feel like I really am giving up something, and I don't know how to get over this, maybe some of you can help. After a day or two, I get that WHY CAN'T I SMOKE? I'm a free person, I LIKE SMOKING. I guess this is just the nicotine addiction talking, but it is really evil in this regard. How did you all deal with this?

I believe this is the one and only hurdle that has prevented me from quitting completely in the past, and it's the one thing that if I get it solved will help me to stay quit this time.

ANyone?

0 Kudos
7 Replies

http://quitsmokingonline.com/

http://digg.com/news/lifestyle/Allen_Carr_s_Easy_Way_To_Stop_Smoking_Download_free_PDF

Congratulatios on your decision to quit tomorrow! The links above have helped so many people here so I thought I'd provide them in case you haven't seen them yet.