cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

lana7

My husband and I are our biggest problems!

We have tried to quit together befor but it seems we bring each other down instead of helping each other out.  How do we get passed being each others weakness and become eachothers strengths.

0 Kudos
11 Replies
leann1027

Lana,

That is a fabulous question, one I wanted to ask as well.  My husband and I smoked our last cigarrette on January 3rd right before going to bed.  I met him in 1999 and I was a social smoker at that time and he was a full-time smoker.  I picked up the habit full-time when I met him.  I have been smoking with him for 10 years now. 

I find that I have to control my thoughts around him, since the least little thing he does makes me crave a cigarrette.  I feel my chest tightening when he starts humming (he's been doing that since Monday morning occassionally-first day smoke free).  I have been slightly sarcastic with him, but I am a pretty nice, easy going person, so in the next couple of breaths, I'm usually saying something nice to him to balance the sarcasm.

I hear people say, "You are so lucky that you have a partner to quit with!"  or I hear "Great, you both can double team the habit".  I totally disagree with this philosophy that people have.  In my situation, I think its harder to quit together with your spouse.  It is for me anyway!

We are making it though and working on day three of being non-smokers.  We have quit several times in the past only to find that one of us gives in and we both start smoking again.

Wish us luck!  Also good luck to you Lana!!!

0 Kudos
that1gurl