cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

ltripp

How to handle 'break' smokes at work

I'm new at this, so bear with me. I am reviewing my smoking habits in prep for my quit date. One of my biggest obstacles is going to be smoke breaks at work. How do you manage this with seperation exercises? Do I just delay smoking until the end of the break time? Do I change up the times (but then still, the activity and the cig remain together)? I can't take a break without smoking, and then go back to my office and light up.

0 Kudos
5 Replies
brooke11

I have had to change my break routine.  I have a customer service type job and do not have set times for breaks.  Now instead of going outside to smoke I will walk around inside (away from the temptations of smokers).  If I can't resist temptation, I have to avoid the situations which tempt me.  

The time it really bothers me is when I get up in the morning on work days.  Coffee just doesn't taste the same without the customary smoke and I procastinate on getting ready for work, like sitting her typing on this blog,  Then the drive into work still seems strange without my "smokie" and I have a time trying to transition into work mode without the smoke trigger.

There were a lot of advertisements about electronic cigerettes at Christmastime and now I am wondering if that is something I should explore except for my gut feeling tells me that it is only a puff away from lighting up the real thing which defeats the whole purpose of quitting smoking. I have to focus and keep remembering that the only cigerette that I have control over is the first one.  If I do not pick up the first one then I do not have to worry about any of the ones after.

0 Kudos
kristin2013