cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Discuss different approaches to quitting, including medication

tryagain

My story. Long term Chantix user, still smoking & need advise

Hi. Just joined today & found reading all your Chantix threads very interesting & helpful.
I'd like to know if any of you are long term users of Chantix and still smoking.
I have this strong conviction that if I stop the Chantix there's no hope for me. I am leaning towards continuing the medication & hoping at some point I will be smoke-free.
Here is my story:
I've been smoking most of my life so it has become my normal routine. Without a cigarette, I don't know how to begin or end any daily tasks. Okay, so now you know my #1 "trigger". I've tried every method out there except nicotine gum. I had quit about 3 yrs ago for about 9 months using Zyban, relapsed, tried Zyban again w/o success. I have been smoking 1-1/2 packs a day for many years.
I had first heard about Chantix long before it was available to the public. I work in a physician's office. When it became available, I was out the door with my RX immediately. I also told others I knew that smoked about this new product. They were all successful. I tell myself I'm having a harder time because I have more receptors than they did!
I am now into my 4th "month" pack of Chantix. At the beginning, I was down from a pack a day to 1 or 2 cigarettes some days, more when I wasn't at work. I haven't had any side-affects from the medication except slight feeling of nausea & bloating. No big deal. On the other hand, I've read the threads here regarding the new side-affect warnings & wondering how long I'll be so lucky.
I am now NOT working & find that I am smoking more often, even though I'm enjoying it less. Not smoking as much as before Chantix though.
Because of this decline, I realize the Chantix is doing something along with the fact that I'm still in the fight.