cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Discuss different approaches to quitting, including medication

jyoung22

Deciding to Quit

I'm 32 and I've been using dipping and vaping for the past 6 years to replace smoking. I quit dipping 1 month ago and have been relying heavily on vaping. Today I've decided to make a full effort to quit my dependencies on it all. It's expensive and it just reinforces other bad habits for me such as drinking and eating bad. The other day I had to run probably just short of the length of a football field and couldn't catch my breath. I used to be a great runner and now I've become lazy and complacent. I want to get in shape, not get irritable with my family and save some money. I'm on my last Juul pod right now and it will be my last. What other mental and physical methods do you guys have to help? 

Labels (1)
2 Replies
Barbscloud

@jyoung22 Welcome to the ex and congrats on your decision to quit vaping .  Understanding that the use of nicotine is an addiction has helped many with their quit.  I does seem quitting vaping may be hard to quit than smoking.  The fact that you can vape anywhere probably contributes to that.  When we smoke we have delay until we find a "safe" place to smoke.

I have numerous attempts at quitting and it finally took me 50 years to get it right.  What was different this time?  I had a quit date, an aid, a class and cut down for a week. Sounds like a road to success.  I was fortunate to find the Ex a week prior to my quit.  I learned about nicotine addiction and that I needed a plan that would prepare for what I was going to encounter on my journey.  And for the first time, I had the support of fellow quitters.