cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Share your quitting journey

Well, here we go (again)....

AbbyAngryowl
3 16 367

I'm 40 years old. With the exception of 4 years between 2006 and 2010, I have smoked since I was 12. And today I've decided I'm sick of it.

I've actually been mulling it over for a while. Between COVID, the diagnoses of several friends with varying smoking-related cancer in the last year, wanting to be a good example for my children, and just being tired of the way smoking makes me feel, it's been on my mind for several months. But I always had an excuse to put it off.

First, it was my job. I was a newspaper editor and the newsroom is a stressful place and the only way to get away was to go out back and smoke. Well, I quit that job, but then it was that I didn't have the tools/resources I needed to get started. Or, I said, the last time I quit "successfully" was when my son was born and I didn't have time to even think about smoking, I was invested 100% in his care, and then, two years later, his sister's. I needed something that would take up that much of my attention, I argued to myself.

Except that now I know that was a choice on my part -- I wanted to be a good, attentive mother, so I chose not to smoke. And I can choose that again. I can invest all of the energy I give to cigarettes into my garden and my chickens, into hiking and exploring, into fixing up my century-old house, into community projects that matter to me -- into so many things that are much better and healthier for my body, mind and spirit than cigarettes ever could be.