Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Share your quitting journey

WHY POST POETRY ON A QUIT SMOKING SITE?

stilltheredavid
0 19 20

Dear beautiful everybody,

Why do I post my poetry on this site? What does a mirror, an anchor or a broken heart have to do with quitting smoking? Nothing, I guess. Everything, I guess again.

I battle depression. Everyday I despair of my life and want to smoke. Every night I pray that God might kill me in my sleep. I see myself by and large as a failure and a loser. I studied medicine but didn't finish. I've cheated on my wife and now live a marriage of little love and quick to the draw squabbles. I earn my impoverished living by putting in video game machines in Mom and Pop stores here in Mexico. This country is poor and plagued with delincuency and organized crime. I feel estranged from my two teenage daughters who were once my adorable little girls. I have nothing to go back to in the states; no degree, no resumé, nothing. I'm 52. I have dabbled in music and photography but I have no faith in making a living as an artist so I continue with this souless business which barely pays my rent. There it is. Here I am, ugly and useless with 9 badges to my name here and barely a month gone by since my last relapse with both alcohol and cigarettes.

So I write poetry to escape from my life for a moment. I post it here because you have loved me. You have made me feel good about something I can believe in and I do believe in the beauty of poetry. I have read and listened to many poems by many poets and they sooth me. So, if by off chance, my poems can do this for others, I find relief from my own bleak existence.

I smoked and drank to self medicate my out of balance brain for 27 years. Poetry does not provide the dopamine rush of nicotine or the early beer buzz on an empty stomach but it allows me to love myself for a biref moment in time.