Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Share your quitting journey

Today is the Day!!

downtown4
0 15 160

My Name is Amy,

I am 52 years old and i have been smoking for over 30 years,  I was never a heavy smoker, maybe social 1 to 2 cigarrents once in a while, but four months ago, the love of my life and I separated, and I felt devastated, so I started smoking more than ever sometimes a pack a day, It felt good, and I relaxed.  But then, I started having issues breathing, I work out and run, so it started impacting my life style.  I smelled terrible and I do not like it.

Last night, I finally realized that I should not penalized my life for the lost of my love as It feel now  it is his loss and I will be fine,  so This morning, I decided to quit smoking,  I know it will be difficult, But I made a pack with myself,  I love me, and I need to show me, that I can control my nicottin craving as much as control not missing him.  It will be hard as I am trying to fight two strong feelings within.  BUT I feel strong today.  I just joined this group because I will need support.  I do not know anyone that smokes and I feel ashamed to even tell my friends that I do.  It has been my hidden secret, (or maybe they know, Ja ja, fooling myself) either case.  I will need support from people that understand what it takes to quit and take it one day at a time.

Thanks to all in the community that allows me be part of it.

Amy

15 Comments
Thomas3.20.2010

Hi, Amy!

Wouldn't this be a great time to get support from all of your Friends for both big changes you are embracing? Change can be a good thing but we sometimes need our Friends! Consider telling them the truth and then tell them exactly what you would feel would be supportive on their part. 

Would you want them to ask how it is going or wait for you to bring up the subject? 

Would you want a close Friend or two who can handle your urgent sense of giving in?