cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Share your quitting journey

Time to get this started and over with...

aspruill
0 13 167

I've never written a blog before, actually I've never even considered it.  So here goes, hopefully I do it right. After 20 years of smoking, I'm calling it quits. I know it's time. My daughter is constantly on me about quitting. My middle son mentions something every once in a while. And now my 4yr old is telling the lady at the drive through where i get my cigs "Hey, we need to get momma's cigarettes." In the past I've told myself and everyone who mentions anything about my quitting, Hey it's my only vice! I used to drink rather heavily when I was in my early 20's. I've quit that. I might have a drink a couple times a year, whereas it used to be 4-5 nights a week I'd get drunk...or at the very least a buzz. So in a way I was telling myself that it was ok that I am smoking because I quit drinking. 

I've tried to quit a few times over the last several years. But I'm not sure I was really serious about it. I'd find myself sneaking smokes when others wouldn't see me. I'd tell myself...just one won't hurt. I really have no friends...I have aquaintances, but I can't open up and vent or cry on their shoulders. Other than immediate family, there is noone I can talk to for support, which is why I starting looking for a site like this. Hopefully I can meet some of you and can gain a new perspective on this whole quitting thing.

13 Comments
ShawnP

Welcome!! we suggest educating yourself on the addiction. Knowledge is power. We are here to help you along the way.

https://excommunity.becomeanex.org/blogs/ShawnP-blog/2013/08/11/foundation-for-a-successful-quit

Barbara145

Welcome.  You have come to the right place. I wanted to quit for 52 years.  Never thought I could until I found this place.  I haven't smoked in 324 days.

Junior7

Welcome! 

YoungAtHeart

Welcome to our community!