Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Share your quitting journey

Three days and Counting

djarmstrong2016
0 17 110

Hi My name is Daryl,

I quit three days ago. I am a social drinker and I know that an event will be coming up soon. Is there any advise anyone can give me to stay on my course?

17 Comments
sparky26

Be careful Daryl , drinking has cost many their quits . 

Best to not drink in these early days . 

sparky26

Forgot to say congratulations on day three ! Woohoo !

Thomas3.20.2010
Put simply - don't drink! Your quit is more important! You need more time!
JonesCarpeDiem

One drink then water the rest of the time.

Vicks under your nose as a reminder of your quit.

If you start thinking of smoking, get out of the situaion.

If you blow your quit, you'll know you can't drink.

RachelMB

Great advice Dale-

I am a newbie with only 8 days of not smoking.  Last weekend was my first weekend not smoking.  I decided not to drink at all because I didn't want to fail.  I know you can't avoid situations forever, but definitely get out if you think you will smoke.  It will get easier in time.  Remember you have a lot of support here and that you CAN do this!

bacardigirl

You are most vulnerable in the first week in my opinion. I wouldn't bother drinking especially because it's a HUGE trigger. You will think much clearer without a drink fogging your judgement.

Congrats on the 3 days! I hope you know what a big accomplishment you have made! Keep strong and good luck to you!

SuzieQue

Everyone is right, probably best to avoid for now.. But I brought nicotine replacement gum with me when I went to drinking places. Some people are against them, but it saved me if I was really craving. 

Congrats on 3 days!!! You got this!! 

JACKIE1-25-15
Keep it simple. If you drink and have to smoke. Don't drink.
c2q

Yes. Picture your quit as a little 3 day old something that you love. Make your choices from there.

Daniela2016