Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Share your quitting journey

Round up of my week as i hit the 70s

Nix
1 6 12
  Im in reflective mood again 🙂

Overall I am feeling sooo much better, so much calmer and my craves are reducing in intensity and frequency.

So whats changed? 

The obvious answer is more time has passed and I keep being told that time is important on this journey

Sleep has become very important for me. Its not that i need more sleep, its my reactions to less sleep that has changed. As a smoker, i would just light up and smoke through being tired and exhausted but those days are gone. I now have to sleep when im tired or i become overly irrational and crazy emotional. Wracking sobbing crying is not fun when it just kicks in for no apparent reason..... but there is a reason, im tired!! Hmm you would have thought that i would know that at my age but hey, im still learning about this new me without my crutch 🙂

Im being a bit nicer to myself. I have always set impossibly high standards and goals for myself and never celebrate my successes. I belittle what i acheive. Not anymore. Im celebrating this one big time. This is a huge acheivement.

Another important learning for me this week was from a wonderful message that Sheri sent me about quitting not being a destination but a journey. Somehow I had become so absorbed in my quit that it felt like i was having to endure something until a point in time and then it would be over. Not sure what point i was looking for, maybe the end of no mans land? But Sheri's  words made me realise that Ive done it already. I have quit smoking. Let me just say that again. 

I HAVE QUIT SMOKING

Done, decision made, action taken. Thats it. 
  All I have to do now is stick with that decision and not allow anything or anyone to change my mind.

So what benefits am i seeing from quitting for 70 days so i can remind myself if i ever do get tempted 

I can breathe!
  I can breathe deeply