Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Share your quitting journey

Quitting yet again

avjets
0 8 46

Hello All,

I am a vet of this site, well if you count several attempts and fails at quitting.  I am starting again today.  I want this so bad but lately, after quit attempts, I come back smoking more than ever.  I am 44 and it is time to quit messing around and quit for good.  As many people I hav tried all types of methods but come back to the devils weed.  I am educated on the ills of smoking and the mechanisms of nicotine addition but I am looking for any other advice or suggestions that may help.

Thanks and I will do this!

Sean

8 Comments
YoungAtHeart

It's really pretty simple.  You need to make a decision that you will not smoke another cigarette NO MATTER WHAT!  This takes commitment and effort on your part (in the early days), but it IS doable.

The idea is to change up your routines so the smoking associations are reduced.  Drink your coffee with your OTHER hand. If you always had that first smoke with your coffee, try putting your tennies on right out of bed, going for a quick walk, then taking your shower and THEN your coffee! Rearrange the furniture in the areas you used to smoke so the view is different.

You need to distract yourself through any craves.  You can take a bite out of a lemon (yup - rind and all), put your head in the freezer and take a deep breath of cold air, do a few jumping jacks, go for a brisk walk or march in place, play a computer game.  Don't let that smoking thought rattle around in your brain unchallenged. Sometimes you need to quit a minute or an hour at a time.  You will need to be disciplined in the early days to distract yourself when a crave hits.  Don't let that smoking thought rattle around your head alone.  Get busy!  Here is a link to a list of things to do instead of smoke if you need some fresh ideas: