cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Share your quitting journey

Preparing for the quit date.

crowing87
0 14 175

I'm 20 years old and I have been smoking for going on 7 years. I am 13 days away from my quit date, and until then I am working on recognizing my urges and what causes them. I have tried to quit a few times before to  no avail, but this website seems like it could be a great help.

If anyone here has any advice at all to give feel free.

14 Comments
Patty-cake

Hello Crow and welcome to EX. I commend you on being so young and quitting. You have the power to beat this addiction. You'll receive great support here on EX. There are lots of suggested readings you'll get here. One in particular is a book by Allen Carr. This book will help you look at quitting smoking in a different light.  It has helped so many folks here on EX get their quit started. Below is a link to a free pdf. For most, it's an easy read.

http://media.wix.com/ugd/74fa87_2010cc5496521431188f905b7234a829.pdf

My biggest suggestion is to educate yourself on nicotine addiction and understand that the addicted mind plays games on you.

When you are ready to commit, we are here to help. Follow the guidelines here on EX so you can learn to do some separation exercises.

You can do this. 🙂

Michwoman

Smart move quitting at a young age! Take it from a middle aged woman it only gets tougher.  There are sooo many things that will help you.

1. Read Allen Carr's Easy Way to Stop Smoking. Here is a link to it:

http://media.wix.com/ugd/74fa87_2010cc5496521431188f905b7234a829.pdf

2. Go to whyquit.com and watch some of the many short videos.

3. Go to quitsmokingonline.com.

None of these resources will lecture you about the hazards of smoking. They will educate you on nicotine addiction which is the real key to quitting for good.