Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Share your quitting journey

New to EX

Raven12
0 12 152

Greetings,

I have been an active smoker since the age of 12 and will celebrate my 58th birthday in January and not too happy about it at all.  I found this site and thus far have been delighted with the compassion and kindness shown by other members.  It is a comfort to know that there are others out there that can help.  I have been looking at my triggers and by far the most toxic to me are other peoples beahviors/attitudes also tailgate drivers.  I have zero tolerance for insensitvie self involved folk and because I encounter so many people in this little town--I work in the tourism industry--I can easily become frustrated and stressed.  The area I live is most pristine and when I see the area and its' community members disrespected I simply melt down and smoke.  Tuesday was my day off and had a most delightful day--at home working on paths for this winters' snowshoeing trails.  I only smoked 3 cigarettes but on the following day I smoked like a chimney--an increase in traffic, disrespectful folk iin the grocery line, misbehaving children unatteded by there parents etc.  I know I can not change others' behaviors but I just can't seem to get past why some folk would want to make life difficult for others--the ME, ME, ME--the because I can folk-- disturb me greatly.  I have been told I'am a rather selfless person trying so hard to make the world a better place that I just can't relate to so many who do not seem to have the same attitude.  I also have an extremely demanding mother who takes everything I do for her for granted.  I will be trying hard to get this monkey off my back--the only bad vice I now carry around.  It is hard to do things just for me.  My quit date is the 14th of October--on the 15th of October I have made an appointment with my accupunturist to have my ears tagged.  So at least I feel I'am moving in the right directio