cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Share your quitting journey

Needed to see this, as I'm just starting out in my first chapter.

vsmith85
0 9 22

9 Comments
annb
Wisdom!!!
Jennifer-Quit

That is the beauty of this group - we are all on different chapters here.  Sometimes you can learn from people way ahead of you in your journey and other times not so much.  This quit is yours and yours alone - never compare yourself to anyone - because we are all unique in our own special way.  Best wishes to you in your journey!

YoungAtHeart

There is a saying here, "Take what you need and leave the rest."

Do read and take in all the wisdom represented by the successful elders and wise ones, but apply it only as needed for YOUR quit.  On the other hand, don't believe you already know it all - because you can't possibly.

You CAN do this.  Be sure to ask questions when you have them and for support when you need it.  W!e will help in any way we can.

Nancy

elvan

It's true, this is YOUR quit but there are some things that people here have experienced that can make your quit go more smoothly if you choose to listen.

My husband has been sober for almost 30 years and he went to AA meetings pretty much constantly at the beginning of his journey.  One sponsor, who had been in the program for a very long time, listened to him and why he felt the program would not work for him.  After my husband finished giving him his excuses, the man sat back and said, "Oh, I understand, you suffer from terminal uniqueness."  He went on to explain that those who feel their addiction is not like anyone else's addiction are going to fight everything that people say.  Please have an open mind and listen to the elders, they can tell you what you might expect and what MIGHT make it easier.  We all need all the help we can get!

Best, Ellen

Thomas3.20.2010

Tell it like you see it!

vsmith85