Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Share your quitting journey

Jules7 Archived Profile

Jules7
0 0 8

Description

I am a warehouse IT repair manager living in the Midwest, an Aunt to 9 excellent kids and a person who finally figured out how to quit smoking. My joys are wandering the city with my best friend Joseph and finding new hidden wonders, going to movies, working on art projects and laughing at silly stuff. 

Reading what I wrote below on my 73rd smoke free day I am reminded of my accomplishments thus far. I have twice that many days now. I have blogged about cravings and hard times because that is what we are told to do. It helps. I have accomplished some personal goals since I quit and have freed up a lot of time. It's amazing to me how many of my art projects are getting done since I stopped taking smoke breaks!

Today I have 73 smoke free days. I lost track of the exact number of days, which is very cool to me. Earlier today I was standing next to some of my staff while they smoked and it was gross. I didn't have a craving or lingering thought. I am glad to be at this place. I tell anyone who will listen that I am a former smoker and will never turn back. Today I believe that.

I am about to finish the training needed to become a volunteer tutor with the literacy project in my city. This Saturday I will get a student. I am so excited and really hope I am good at this. I signed up to work with parolees or folks in recovery. Statistically, if an ex-con learns to read then they have an 80% less chance of ending up back in prison. That's amazing. The nicest thing about volunteering is that I often get more out of it than the other guy.