cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Share your quitting journey

In need of support and advice!

lpears
0 15 62

I am totally new to the website and five days into my new smoke free life. (It will be 5 days at 11:15 tonight). The hour count could symbolize my desperation or difficulty here but I hope by writing it down I could not only maybe feel a little better but also get some words of encouragement or support. 

I'm 25 and have been smoking for eight years at a pack a day. This is my first time around the quitting loop. My wonderful and supportive significant other has quit smoking on the same date at the age of 31 after smoking a pack a day for 10 years. He has quit a few times already, but is confident that this is his last. 

He has decided on the gum and I have chosen the patch. He has actually been doing really well and I'm very proud of him. I, on the other hand, have been nothing but a train wreck. I actually have been ok with cravings (maybe 2 or 3 a day now) but am emotionally defeated. I spend most days crying and barely can get out of bed. I'm really anxious and depressed. It's taken a toll on him and I feel terrible, so I am trying to get a bigger support system to take the load off. Our parents have both smoked but insist that it just takes will power and it's not an addiction, contrary to scientific evidence. 

I guess what I really just want to know if someone, ANYONE has ever gone through the emotional distress. I feel kind of isolated in my feelings and it's lowering my power to stay away from a good old fashion drive to the store. The physical withdrawl was terrible and I don't want to go through that again. Just need to love and support. Advice is absolutley warranted. If I'm being a total baby about this, someone please say so hahaha. 

15 Comments
stonecipher

You've come to the right place.