cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Share your quitting journey

In The Driver's Seat

Storm.3.1.14
0 7 8
  I was driving on the interstate yesterday, during a pretty active time of day. I quickly got up to legal speed in the right-hand lane, and set the cruise control. From this steady pace, I was mindful of the traffic flow ahead of me. Mindful of what the cars behind me were doing, and mindful of the surface conditions around me. Adjusting, as needed, ahead of time, in anticipation of…whatever. And it’s not because I’m a perfect driver, by any means (dang you, disco oldies radio station and air guitars!); it’s because I try to be a   methodical driver.

Anyway, in my rearview mirror, I saw…That Guy. Mister   It’s-All-About-Me. There he was, in the right-hand lane, but going about 8 miles an hour over the speed limit. All the road signs told him that a lesser speed was safer and adequate, but he was determined to push it faster. Now! Not because there was an emergency, but because   he wanted and deserved whatever pace he thought he ought to have

Conditions? Traffic flow? Legalities? Danger?   BAH! Places to be! Things to do! 

Go, now, go!

I watched him nudging up behind other vehicles, only to tap at his brakes, again and again. Push forward! Tap the brakes! Get frustrated! Scan to the left! Blind spot! Twist!   Go! 

Jerking the wheel to the left,   always reacting-reacting-reacting to only what popped up in front of him, within 20 feet. Never   looking ahead 60 or 100 or even 200 feet to  anticipate   what moves might be needed. Never taking a moment to think, “Okay, I   chose to drive on the interstate at lunchtime. I   knew there would be some traffic.   Maybe some issues. I knew I’d   need to   be a bit patient. I knew this. So,   relax and   focus.“ 

No, no, no. Not That Guy.