cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Share your quitting journey

I want to be an EX

theresann
1 13 18

Hello, theresann.  1st day here, not first day attempting to stop smoking.  I have failed 4x in my 20+ years of smoking.  I turned 50 in Oct.  I look in the mirror at the wrinkles around my mouth and am so let down with myself, I get bronchitis easy.  I am a nurse.  I am a Mommy.  I do not like how i feel physically or mentally anymore from smoking.  I use to enjoy it.  It was an escape and my "time" but now it feels  more like a crutch and a burden and a destroyer.

I am on Chantix.  (I used it before, it worked very well) did not smoke for over a year.   I do not want to gain weight though and am extrememly fearful of this.  Weight gain was a big excuse for putting off smoking.  But I have had bronchitis since last of Oct 2016 and because of my smoking, my body just is not healing well.  Steroids, antibiotics, inhalers, all too familiar.  I want to stop more than I ever have wanted to before but I am so reliant on the "calm" i get from it.  I need help, I can not do this alone.  So here I am, asking......

Thank you.

13 Comments
YoungAtHeart

Welcome to our community!

The most important thing you can do right now is to educate yourself on what nicotine does to your body and mind. To that end, I highly recommend Allen Carr's “The Easy Way to Stop Smoking.” This is an easy and entertaining read. Here is a link to a free PDF version of it:

http://media.wix.com/ugd/74fa87_2010cc5496521431188f905b7234a829.pdf

As well, read the sections on this site, and read the blogs, responses and pages of folks you think might be helpful. You might visit whyquit.com and quitsmokingonline.com for the good information contained there. You should also do the tracking and separation exercises suggested on this site