cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Share your quitting journey

I go by changeling

changeling2
0 11 56

i have been smoking since i was 15. i am now 60 years young!! i have tried to quit several times and have had the greatest success with the inhaler and the lozengers  i never had support from a group however i hope i can get help through the communities i join.  My biggest triggers are depression and boredom!  i have created things i like to do this time to  help me with the boredom such as reading playing on my keyboard a game of solitaire and puzzles.  I hope when one doesn't work, one of the others will!    

11 Comments
constanceclum

Hi changeling. I saw you on the group site. I am new too but I have noticed that group participation is low. I read that most people use the blogs to communicate. I am bipolar primarily depression with anxiety. I have been smoking for 42 years and now have copd. I am 55 years old and feel desperate to quit. Stick with this site and you will get a wealth of information. My quit date is Tues. Connie

YoungAtHeart

Welcome to our community!

The most important thing you can do to start is to educate yourself on what nicotine does to your mind and body. To that end, I highly recommend Allen Carr's “The Easy Way to Stop Smoking.” This is an easy and entertaining read. Here is a link to a free PDF version of it:

http://media.wix.com/ugd/74fa87_2010cc5496521431188f905b7234a829.pdf

As well, read the sections on this site, do the tracking and separation exercises, and read the blogs, responses and pages of folks you think might be helpful. You might also want to visit quitsmokingonline.com, and whyquit.com.

After you have completed the readings, it will be time to make your quit plan, including what quit aid , if any, you will use, and the crave busters you think will work for you. Then you can approach your quit day with a plan in place.