cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Share your quitting journey

I feel bad for smoking but it feels worse to try to quit and fail.

lcmershon
0 9 42

I have just celebrated my 49th Birthday on December 3rd. I had wanted to be an ex-smoker by then.

I have been smoking a pack a day since 1978, I was 13 years old, that was 36 years ago. These past few years I am up to 2 packs a day. I don't have any memories of what it's like to be a non-smoker.

I have three grown kids, I desperately tried to quit smoking during and after each pregnancy. I tried so many times and every method. But, my brain just won't let me do it.

Recently, somehow I mustered up the courage to face it again. To really try to break free. I did the math and if I put the money I spend on a carton a week into a coffee can I would have $3,521.00 in a year!

So, I bought my last carton on 11/15/14. I took a glass jar with some water in it and put all the butts from that carton in there. It's nasty!

I set my quit date for 11/28/14. I started taking Chantix a week before that and found this website and read every blog. I had a few packs left after my quit date and decided to finish them and then I would quit. Well, Today I smoked the last cigarette from my last pack. I have been fighting the urge to go to the store and get another pack because I know it will just lead to another and another. But, it's not just an urge it's the fear that is driving me mad. The fear of quitting.

I also bought the book The Easy Way For Women To Stop Smoking by Allen Carr. I want to quit, I really do. But, honestly, I found the loophole of why I haven't committed to do his simple plan, I just can't seem to write my personal statement of why I want to quit.

Sounds so stupid and lame. I know I have all I need to do this.

So, what if I found the courage and my why's and wrote my statement? Would that be enough? Wouldn't I just come up with some other excuse not to quit?