cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Share your quitting journey

I LOVE MY QUIT!!!

djmurray
0 18 22

Who thought that a (very) chubby, out-of-shape, donut eating 66 year old smoker (as of December 31, 2014) could be a happy, non-smoking, eating healthy and working to be in better shape 66 year old woman a mere four months later?  Not me!!  And this quit is the key to all of it.  I couldn't say for sure on Day One that I could make this my final quit.  I wanted that really badly, but I was still afraid.  But as each day has passed in this quit I have learned more about myself, felt better about myself and respected myself more than I have maybe ever.  I worked hard in my life to overcome depression, and I have been pretty successful at that.  But I can't think of anything I've done that has had this effect on me -- to make me want to do more and more to actually take care of myself.  I graduated with honors from law school, and I was very proud of that, but it didn't really have as much to do with how I felt about myself as it was what others would think of me.  I would get a good job, good pay, and have respect.  There's a place for that sort of thing (although as many of you know, I don't practice law anymore because I came to HATE it).

The point is that when we say here that quitting is the most loving gift you can give yourself, I am living it.  I am benefitting every moment of every day from not putting toxins into my body, of course, but also from my awakened sense of (corny as it probably sounds) self worth.  I think that's the source of the great joy I have been experiencing.  I believe I understand it now.