cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Share your quitting journey

Got Tired Of Waiting!!! So I Quit!

lori.g
0 11 18

Okay im new at this so please be patient... It probably wasn't a good idea but...as I stared at the pathches on my dresser waiting for my quit date to roll around, it occured to me WHY WAIT? So 2 days ago I QUIT! 9/30/14 was not coming fast enough so 9/9/14 it is! I.m pretty sure this impulse move was not a great idea...but I felt ready and thank God it.s going smooth. Should I have waited?

11 Comments
Ms.J_11-10-2013

You did the best possible thing ever!!!!!  No you should not have waited.  You are already 2 days in and in another day the nicotine will be out of your system.  You really do need to educate yourself as to what this addiction is and how to beat it.  You will get a lot of reading material sent your way and it is a must read.  Just think by the 30th you will have 21 days under your belt.  You will have beaten hell and heck week.  Go you and I wish you the best!!!!!!!!!

Jackie

JonesCarpeDiem

it was a positive move. you have your patches.

you might want to read my page for an overview of quitting.

Storm.3.1.14

If you truly feel, deep in you, that you read all the material, that you understand it, that you studied the facts of addiction, that you practiced good quit strategies, and that you have gathered all your supplies, then Nine-Nine sounds like a good quit date to me.

Junior7

You were ready--so that sounds great to me!!!  Congrats on two days! 

YoungAtHeart

Welcome to our community!

It is YOUR quit and you were ready - so go to it - and congratulations on two days!

The most important thing you can do right now is to educate yourself on what nicotine does to your body and mind. To that end, I highly recommend Allen Carr's “The Easy Way to Stop Smoking.” This is an easy and entertaining read. Here is a link to a free PDF version of it: