cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Share your quitting journey

First day of my new life....

ccburkott
0 9 115

Hello! I am new here to become an ex. I am a 35 year old stay at home mom, full time student, and wife to an active duty Air Force officer. I have been smoking since I was 11 years old. It has been my best friend, always there for me, as long as I can remember.

Sure, I've quit here and there, through pregnancies. I have 2 wonderful boys, ages 13 and 7. We are an active family, and I feel like smoking has definitely gotten in the way of me enjoying my life with my family fully. I go outside to smoke, stop on trips, and cannot do alot of the things the rest of them enjoy because of my addiction.

My husband just returned from a long year in Afghanistan. While he was away, I had a scare after a visit to the dentist with a biopsy for oral cancer. Talk about freaked out! I still didn't give up my addiction - hard to believe, but I guess I figured the damage was done.

Well, thank God the biopsy came back fine, so I just continued life as I've always known it. Our family is ready to embark on a new journey, moving from here in Virginia off to Germany. We've had quite a winter this year, and today my dog escaped. I had to run around looking for him through 2 feet of snow. A reality check was hit, as I huffed and puffed while searching for him. That was about 3 hours ago.

I sat here and could not recover. My lungs are still burning. I want to enjoy life, and I want to do it smoke free. I had one and a half packs here at home. I took a cigarette, smoked it as my good-bye, and crushed the rest - flushing them down the toilet.

This is attempt # who knows what. I have taken medications, tried hypnotism, and many other strategies. Those times were just to please others. This time I want to please myself.

So, today is the first day of my new life. Cold turkey, because I want to live.