cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Share your quitting journey

Coping Response

LisaAnnIndy74
7 9 150

Once you quit, you have to learn a whole new way of dealing with stressful situations. My go to response was to go and smoke. Well now that I have four years under my belt, that is NOT an option. My quit is way too important to me to just go and have a smoke. And not only that but I would be a fool to think that I could have a few puffs and be ok. That I wouldn’t pick up smoking again. I know myself, I know I would smoke again. So I had to learn to deal with stress differently. Actually I should say, I’m still learning. I do a lot of deep breathing, meditation and praying now. When your gearing up to quit, MAKE SURE you have alternatives in place to help you deal and cope with any given situation!! I know all of us with a few month to years under our belts can give awesome alternatives to any of you who haven’t quit yet or are in your first days. Don’t be afraid to ask. More importantly don’t let stressful situations prevent you from quitting.  You CAN do this!!! I’m here whenever possible, and there are a multitude of amazing EXers that are ready and willing to help!!! 

Love and Hugs my fellow friends and EXers!!! And remember NOPE, Not One Puff Ever!!! 

Lisa 

9 Comments
YoungAtHeart

Good to see you, Lisa Ann - and GREAT advice.  Stress is always going to happen; learning new ones of dealing with it is a KEY to success.  It IS an ongoing process.  I find that walking or just getting busy outside is one of my go-to's.

Congratulations on your successful quit - keep it going!!!!  And always remember there is NEVER "just one" to an addict.

Nancy

Sandy-9-17-17