cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Share your quitting journey

Any Ex's smoke occasionally/socially?

chanelnicole
0 13 165

I quit 13 days ago but 7 days in went out to a bar w/ friends who smoke.  I broke down and had two, haven't had any since.  I had all these plans in place that worked at first but after so many drinks and being in the presence of smoke, I honestly didn't care.  I couldn't stop myself and basically forced my friends to give me a cigarette.

I was wondering if it's possible to socially smoke on occasion and not pick back up again.  I don't really WANT to, but my resolve dissipates w/ alcohol and at this point I'm not considering giving up drinks w/ friends.  I'm new at this still, so any advice would be great!  Also, I've been chewing nicotine gum, so when I smoked it's not like I was re-introducing nicotine to my system.  Anyone been OFF nicotine replacement therapy and tried smoking socially?  My last intention is to start again, so if it's not possible or extremely hard, don't be afraid to burst my bubble!  I need to hear it!  Thanks!

13 Comments
Breakinchains

In my book there is no such thing as "social smoking." Either you smoke, or you don't. Just my opinion.

judy41

No - no and no again.  I beg you to get on whyquit.com to understand the addiction.  Keep the quit no matter what!

toni-guay

I quit for 30 days (cold turkey) so by that time I didn't have the nicotine in my system...did the same thing though, ended up going to a bar with some of my smoker friends...thought I could try smoking on occasion...ended up back to my regular routine in less than a couple days...did that for about another year, and here I am...6days in 🐵  It didn't work out for me, but maybe see what others have to say too? :oD  Nice job on the 13 days though!  And GREAT job on being able to step away from the cigarette the days after! 🐵

anacondahead