cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Share your quitting journey

A little about me

lisa-a-foster
3 14 47

I'm a 44 year young woman. I've been smoking for 30 years. I've always been the picture of perfect health. I don't even get colds in the winter. A couple of weeks ago my Dr. found a heart murmur. He sent me to have a heart echo done. Turns out I have a significant aortic insuffiency. Who would have thought? I have three grown children and we love to go on all kinds of outdoor adventures. Hiking, canoeing, swimming, and fishing, just anything to be active outdoors.  We love to garden, raise chickens and little goats. This news came as quite a shock, seeing as how there are really no symptoms until it is almost to late. I have to quit smoking so we can continue having our wonderful adventures. I'm going to the Dr. today for a follow up and to discuss the different medications to help me quit smoking. Through the years I have tried the different over the counter products, to no avail. I smoked while wearing the patch. I know, it's terrible. I'm leaning towards Chantix. I don't know, we'll see what the Dr. says.

14 Comments
Dotgirl_1-28-16
Welcome Lisa!!! You're in the right place. I suggest that you follow the steps on this site to educate yourself on addiction and take the steps that will prepare you for a successful quit. You are not alone, there are many of us that were where you are now. Good luck at the doctors! Again welcome Anna!!! YOU CAN DO THIS!!!! Just saying no a day at a time...never take another puff
YoungAtHeart

Welcome to our community!