cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

cweed75

And so the journey begins

Jump to solution

This is day one of my journey to quit smoking. I have been smoking since I was 12 years old and I'm currently 48. I feel mentally strong, but I haven't laid them down, yet. I am determined to quit & owe it to myself to quit so that I can have a healthier life. I've given up all my other vices, this is the last to go, but it's the one I've had the longest so I know it will be difficult, but so worth it in the end.

Labels (2)
Tags (1)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Barbscloud

@cweed75 Welcome to the Ex and congrats on your decision to quit.  

This isn't easy and does take some work.  Right now, you're working through the process of your desire to quit and the addiction wanting  you to keep it up.  You can win that internal battle by educating yourself about nicotine addiction and putting a plan in place with how you'll deal with cravings, identifying your triggers and creating the new associations you'll create instead of smoking.  

And you just found an amazing group of quitters the are here to support you on this journey to becoming an Ex.  There will be ups and downs, but that is part of the journey.  We're here for you, so just reach out anytime we can help or want to share your experience.

This link is a great place to get you started on the right track.  https://www.becomeanex.org/guides/?cid=footer_community_linktobex

This is doable with knowledge and preparation.   It took me 50 years to get it right because I skipped these two steps. in the past.  This time I was lucky to find the Ex and learned how to quit.   

Consider taking the Daily Pledge to stay on track one day at a time.  One day is all you have do right now.

Look forward to celebrating with you on the 8th.   You'll be happy you made this decision for yourself.

Barb

View solution in original post

9 Replies
MarilynH